Friday, June 9, 2023
Your Vigilant Daily Newspaper

BTTHS A, STIWNU still unbeaten in UNBL Aspirants cup

February 26, 2023

Top seeds Bacolod Tay Tung High School (BTTHS) A and STI West Negros University (STIWNU) continue to remain undefeated in the quarterfinals last Friday of the 1st United Negros Basketball League (UNBL) Aspirants Basketball Cup 2023 at BTTHS Gymnasium.

Playing as of press time is the semifinals encounter between STIWNU and St. John’s Institute (SJI) A while BTTHS A battles University of St. La Salle (USLS) for a place in the finals. The undefeated teams are armed with a twice to beat advantage against their semis opponent.

BTTHS Team A overwhelmed Luisa Medel National High School (LMNHS) 88-24. The dominance by the Thunderbolts was in full display as they limited LMNHS to single digit for 4 quarters.

Ahron John Cagayao led BTTHS A with 12 points, Aethan Kyle Pimente ladded 11 points, Adrian James Alagaban and Jhalil Sultan had 10 markers each, Francis John Lamasan shot 8 points and Roland Vincent Oñate with 6 points. Jester Paypa and Micko john Villarosa delivered 9 and 8 points respectively for LMNHS.

Meanwhile STIWNU held off the 4th quarter rally of University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos (UNO-R) 68-63.

With STIWNU leading 54-38 at the end of the 3rd quarter. UNO-R engineered a last ditch rally in the payoff quarter led by Matthew Depamaylo, Jayven Pachoro and George Agnes to cut the deficit to as low as 3 points but STIWNU managed to hold on and seal the semifinals seat.

STIWNU was led by Kyle Salgado 12 points backstopped by Ed Christein Marinduqueand Brent Jandy Yanong with 11 markers apiece, Kyle Matthew Barrieta shot 9, Cian Renier Gumacal made 8 and Jovel Thomas Gonzales 6 shot points.

UNO-R was led by Agnes with 19 points, Depamaylo added 11, Reigner Torres had 9 pts. and Ced Ditching with 7 points.

SJI Team A dominated Bacolod City National High School 73-32.

From a 25-15 1st quarter lead, SJI-A unleashed a 25-4 scoring run in the 2nd quarter led by Jose Miguel Sy 8 pts. and Lorenzo Joaquin Lacson 6 points for a 50-19 lead at the break.

Loretizo paced SJI A with 12 markers, Lacson finished with 10 pts. Ryton Celis drilled 9 points, Marlowe John Keith Alacapa shot 8 points and Aethan Gregory Yap nailed 6 points.

Rain Mendoza scored 6 points for LMNHS, Cyril Salumag Salumag and Zaijhan Debide added 5 points apiece.

USLS blanked sister school St. Joseph School-La Salle (SJS-LS) in the last 4:22 to advance to the next round 65-49.

USLS had an early double digit lead in the 2nd quarter 30-19 before SJS-LS close in on a 7-0 run to cut the deficit at the break by 4 points.

SJS-LS tied the game at the start of the 4th quarter courtesy of a triple by William Haniel Malacad at 43 all. But Reagan Charles Jamero and John Troy Newman gave USLS some breathing room as they extended the lead to 49-43.

A follow up by Sam Emmanuel Pescadilla and a coast to coast drive by Jameer Angelo Gapusan drew SJI-LS closer to 2 points but USLS slowly restored order as they extended the lead anew 55-47. Rey John Alamo scored on a layup with 4:22 left to cut the deficit to 6 pts., but this was the last point of SJS-LS as USLS tightened up their defense and scored on fast break attacks.

Vinz Krhystoff Lapore spearheaded USLS with 14 points, Luis Andrei Lirazan added 13 points, Leou Jaemiel Leonero shot 9 points, Newman drilled 7 points, Gian Alexis Vasquez and Jamero dropped 6 points apiece.

Gapusan led SJS-LS with 20 points and also registered several blocks, but lacked the scoring support with Malacad and Pescadilla adding 5 points apiece.* (Cyrus M. Garde)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *